Archive for the ‘Federated States of Micronesia’ Category

Country Specific Information: Federated States of Micronesia

June 5, 2011 Comments off

Country Specific Information: Federated States of Micronesia
Source: U.S. Department of State

May 27, 2011

COUNTRY DESCRIPTION: The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) has four states, each including a main island as well as dozens of smaller islands, spread out over a million square miles of the north central Pacific. The four states are Pohnpei (formerly Ponape), Kosrae (formerly Kusaie), Chuuk (formerly Truk) and Yap. The federal capital is located at Palikir, on the island of Pohnpei, close to Pohnpei’s largest town, Kolonia. The FSM is a constitutional democracy and part of the Compact of Free Association with the United States. Read the Department of State’s Background Notes on Micronesia for additional information.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers